Just a Little Common Sense

For a life based on reason, ethics, literature and art.

Female Gay Atheist Prime Ministers

with 7 comments

I came across two great stories today. Both are about Female Prime Ministers, namely the ones of Iceland and of Australia. Both of them are pretty much the pope’s worst nightmare come true: Women in positions of political power, who are not ashamed of their sexuality and even worse, are open apostates.

Yesterday, the Telegraph published a story about the marriage of Johanna Sigurdardottir, Prime Minister of Iceland. She married her long time partner Jonina Leosdottir on last Sunday, the day gay marriage became legal in Iceland after the legislation was unanimously passed on june 12. They had been in a civil union since 2002, which has now been formally transformed into a marriage.

The other story has been covered already, but it’s so great that I’m gonna share it again anyhow: Australia’s PM Julia Gillard openly talked about her lack of faith on a radio interview with 744 ABC Melbourne at 9 am this morning. The Interviewer asked her straight out whether she believed in god, and her reply was an unambiguous “no I don’t, John. I’m not a religious person.” She then elaborated on her upbringing in a Baptist family but said that she chose to “pursue a different path in my adult life.” The interviewer also asked her about how she was going to attract the “vital christian vote”. Her awesome reply was that she was “not going to pretend a faith I don’t feel”. She gained some points on my  authenticity-scale with that one. Her clear message was that she was concerned for Australia as a whole and was not going to suck up to a particular group in order to gain votes. I like that. You can find the interview here, the bit about religion starts at 6:30 min before the end of the segment. (it’s got a weird backwards-counting timer, hence my odd phrasing)

I think this is great news. It is an indicator that there is some change happening. Public perception is shifting, on the topic of homosexuality as well as on the topic of religion. It’s awesome to see it moving into the right direction.

Written by Phil

June 29, 2010 at 13:54

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fear God, and give glory to him; for the hour of his judgment is come: and worship him that made heaven, and earth, and the sea, and the fountains of waters.

    Patmos Pete

    July 17, 2010 at 18:08

    • Oh, cute. I was wondering when the first deranged fundies would show up in my comment section citing bible-verses.

      Ochiudo

      July 19, 2010 at 00:23

  2. Nice one on J-Gill, P. She’s slipping a little in the polls over here (the election’s been announced for 21 Aug) but for most of the part, the more I hear of and from her, the more impressed I am.

    KT

    July 30, 2010 at 02:06

    • I’ve heard of her only once since I read that article, and that time I must say she impressed me less, by saying that she will “respect traditional marriage”…

      Ochiudo

      July 31, 2010 at 09:42

  3. Will be interesting to see how Julia Gillard performes her uprising came as a surprise to most of us .
    I also believe that man was meant to be with woman and vise versa ,
    That is a touch of common sense ,
    procreation is natural.
    Love is natural , 2 men 2 woman is not .
    sorry if you do not agree regards Denise

    Denise

    January 2, 2011 at 07:15

  4. Unfortunately in recent times, Gillard has been terrible, and strangely, she is an Athiest, but all of a sudden she is trying to get the bible taught in public schools… appealing to the conservatives… also she is against gay marriage… terrible.

    David Campbell

    March 22, 2011 at 11:47

    • I’m not very happy to hear that. I wrote this post when she wasn’t even elected yet, and to be honest I haven’t been following her career too closely since then. From the few interviews I watched, she seemed like a person with integrety and a decent set of values, although that was only a first impression. I’m a little surprised to hear that she’s turned to wrecking the education system now.

      About the last thing Australia needs is even worse public education :/

      Ochiudo

      March 22, 2011 at 15:15


Leave a Reply

