Just a Little Common Sense

For a life based on reason, ethics, literature and art.

The Good Old Days

leave a comment »

Aaaaah yes, the 80s… To be honest, I don’t have a clue what he’s talking about. At the time that they feel so nostalgic for I was about 5 years old. I love this music, but dammit, I’m just born 20 years too late, and on the wrong continent. I never really considered myself part of what’s left of the newschool hardcore-scene, either. While I love the music and the attitude, I never much liked the clothes and I disagree wholehartedly on the political part. I don’t care much for anarchy, and while I can to some degree identify with the ideals of the Straight Edge sub-scene, most Edgers are way to full of themselves and too elitist for my liking.
But still, I just love the music. Gorilla Biscuits, Dead Kennedys, Have Heart, Comeback Kid, Sick Of It All, Black Flag, Dritte Wahl, Chain Of Strength, Raised Fist, Minor Threat – My life would be so much less without them. H2O are great, too. And “What Happened?” is one of my favourite songs, even though I obviously do not share their nostalgia.

Anyhow. Watching this, I just cannot help but wonder – Are they aware of the irony that there is in hiring a professional filmcrew to produce a well-made, high-end videoclip (including computer generated graphic effects!) to go with a song that is pure nostalgia for the good old days in which Hardcore bands like them had no money?

Written by Phil

May 18, 2010 at 02:46

Leave a Reply

