Just a Little Common Sense

For a life based on reason, ethics, literature and art.

Friday Fun Fact #1

with 2 comments

This, as you may have guessed, is the start of a series. Posting weekly random fun facts is not a particulary novel idea, but maybe I can dig up a few fun facts that you haven’t heard before. I’m gonna make the start with an dumbfounding statistic that Jane McConigal used as a slide in her TED Talk on how gaming can improve the world. While I’m not so sure about her conclusion, this number really astonished me:

The time that the world’s gamers collectively spent playing World of Warcraft so far:
5,93 million years.

Written by Phil

May 14, 2010 at 03:16

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know, I think that is roughly the same amount of time I have personally spent on the Final Fantasy series in my lifetime.

    revatheist

    May 14, 2010 at 21:25

    • I never had any game console, just computers. The only game I ever really, REALLY got sucked into was Diablo II. I spent an insane amount of time on it. Gaming was pretty much all I did after I came home from school, from age 13 to 18. I don’t really remember why I stopped, but now I’m glad I did.
      Have you watched the talk? This is not the only impressive number in it. Extremely entertaining and thought-provoking stuff. As is almost anything on TED, by the way.

      Ochiudo

      May 15, 2010 at 07:53


Leave a Reply

